Africa is the world's second-largest and second-most-populous continent. At about 30.2 million km² (11.7 million sq mi) including adjacent islands, it covers six percent of the Earth's total surface area and 20.4 percent of the total land area. With 1.0 billion people (as of 2009, see table), it accounts for about 15% of the world's human population. The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, both the Suez Canal and the Red Sea along the Sinai Peninsula to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The continent includes Madagascar and various archipelagoes. It has 54 fully recognized sovereign states ("countries"), 9 territories and two de facto independent states with limited or no recognition.


The country has a warm and humid climate along its Indian Ocean coastline, with wildlife-rich savannah grasslands inland towards the capital.
The Kingdom of Morocco is located in northwest of Africa on the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea. It is separated from Europe by the Straits of Gibraltar.
Tanzania, a land of series of scenic wonders, the Great Rift Valley with its shimmering lakes and the "endless plains" of the Serengeti.
From the iconic pyramids of Giza to the temples of Abu Simbel, there is a spectacular array of Pharaonic sights that form the core of Egypt's appeal.
Elephants meandering through woodland, dense rainforest echoing with the screeches and hoots of monkeys and chimpanzees - it can be found in Uganda.
Subscribe here to our monthly newsletters

Your Name
Email Address